AWE Member



Situated near London Bridge the Wine & Spirit Education Trust (WSET®) is an independent, not-for-profit charity founded in 1969 to provide training in wines and spirits to those in the trade and for the general public. It is the only wine and spirit education entity approved by Ofqual – , the UK Government’s regulator for education.

There are 3 strands to their activities:

Qualifications:it is the responsibility of the operating division, WSET Awards, to develop learning outcomes and set examinations leading to a number of qualifications in wine and spirit education. WSET has four levels of qualification courses starting with a basic one-day course,

Education Partners: WSET oversee the appointment, administration and support of an extensive network of third-party teaching and examination centres around the world, the WSET Approved Programme Providers and the WSET Certified Educator Scheme,

Delivery of courses at WSET’s London Wine & Spirit School: the School, based at their London headquarters, is the flagship in terms of course delivery.

WSET also run events for the enthusiast, in the 5th Floor Tasting room in Bermondsey St, for those that just want to understand a bit more about wine, while having a fun evening out, these include food and wine events and specialist tutored tastings.

In the 2017/18 academic year 94,822 candidates sat WSET’s examinations in 75 countries and 18 languages.

The educational staff of the Trust who are involved with the corporate membership of the AWE are listed below with their direct lines and email addresses:

Ian Harris Tel: 020 7089 3806 iharris@wsetglobal.com
Graham Cox Tel: 020 7089 3880 gcox@wsetglobal.com
Russell Dent Tel: 020 7089 3864 rdent@wsetglobal.com
Lydia Harrison Tel: 020 7089 3836 lharrison@wsetglobal.com
Antony Moss MW Tel: 020 7089 3826 amoss@wset.co.uk
David Wrigley MW Tel: 020 7089 3818 dwrigley@wset.co.uk
Christine Marsiglio Tel: 020 7089 3800 CMarsiglio@wsetglobal.com
Lauren Denyer Tel: 020 7089 3800 LDenyer@wsetglobal.com
Christopher Martin Tel: 020 7089 3800 cmartin@wsetglobal.com
Michael Buriak Tel: 020 7089 3800 mburiak@wsetglobal.com

Available for

Corporate events, Club/Society tastings, WSET courses, Wine courses

Qualifications

WSET Level 1 Award in Wines
1 day wine course provides basic wine knowledge as well looking at how to match food with wine.

WSET Level 1 Award in Spirits
1 day course provides basic product knowledge and skills in service and marketing of spirits to prepare a person for their first job in hospitality or the spirit industry.

WSET Level 2 Award in Wines and Spirits
This course covers the major grape varieties and where they are grown around the world. Students are taught how to taste wine professionally using the WSET Systematic Approach to Tasting.

WSET Level 2 Award in Spirits
This spirits course gives a greater breadth and depth of knowledge in the specific area of spirits and liqueurs.

WSET Level 3 Award in Wine
Provides a more comprehensive coverage of the wide range of wines around the world. The qualification has an increased focus on wine tasting technique.

WSET Diploma in Wines and Spirits
This is the flagship qualification for wine and spirit professionals around the world, and a stepping-stone to entry onto the Master of Wine programme.

Common to all qualifications is the WSET Systematic Approach to Tasting.

Company Name

Wine & Spirit Education Trust (WSET®)

Other Websites

http://www.wsetschool.com

Ask Wine & Spirit Education Trust about your event